Q&A w/ Tammy Tyler, Habitat Bookkeeper

Q: How long have you worked for Habitat for Humanity? 

A: I have worked for Habitat for Humanity for a year. 

Q: Why did you start working for Habitat? 

A: I was completing my AAS in Administrative Assistant and had inquired about an office internship I needed to complete before graduating. Habitat already had an intern, but was seeking to fill their paid bookkeeping position. I thought the position would be perfect for me and my goal was to work in a human resource department doing payroll or accounts payable / receivable. I immediately applied, had an interview soon after, and was offered the job a couple days later. 

Q: What is your favorite part of working for a non-profit? Why? 

A: It is rewarding to be able to help people with either resources or achieving the dream of owning a home. I remember giving the keys to the homeowner of the last house we built. She was so excited and happy that she had a place to call home. 

Q: Is this the first non-profit you’ve worked for? 

A: Yes 

Q: What does your day-to-day at Habitat look like? 

A: My day always starts with checking the mail, checking emails, and checking voicemails. Throughout the day I answer the phone, return emails, and help anyone who comes into the office. Other duties I may do throughout the day include: processing invoices, paying bills, making bank deposits, tracking donations, creating board reports, ordering supplies, entering store sales, paying taxes, processing payroll, reconciling bank accounts, and any other thing that comes to my desk. 

Q: What does it mean to be a bookkeeper? 

A: Being a bookkeeper requires basic knowledge of accounting. Unlike larger corporations, who have a person designated to accounts receivable or accounts payable or payroll, a bookkeeper does all of the record keeping of the finances. 

Q: What are your hobbies outside of work? 

A: I don’t really have any hobbies. I do like to read a good book, cook, and care for the wild and stray animals around the property. My favorite thing is to visit my boys in Spokane, WA.